90’s Albums But is Alanis 1?

Today I thought of Alanis Morissette and my train of thought made me think of a conversation w/ Jaqai where I said “Irony, is having a song called ‘Ironic’ that lacks Irony”. Which is not an original observation, but true nonetheless. Then my train of thought made me think of something from a while back. Around the turn of the century, we all remember all the hype and remembrance of the last 1000, 100, & 10 years that were about to wholly leave us or had left us and the days that were soon to come. (we also had an irrational fear of impending dysfunction, anarchy a/o the end of…everything). Best of lists were HUGE and one was the VH1’s top 20 albums of the 90’s, which featured amazing and groundbreaking and successful works. Albums such as Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind’, Pearl Jam ‘Ten’, Fugees ‘The Score’, but the #1 Album of the Decade was ‘Jagged Little Pill’ by Mz. Morissette. I have to say that the pick kinda blindsided me as I hadn’t recognized it hadn’t shown on

Overplayed Littles Songs

Overplayed Little Songs

the list yet (I honestly thought it would be ‘Nevermind’), but when they ran the resumé of the album, I honestly submitted to their pick. It was a huge and original album. Do you remember how many times they played ‘You Oughta Know’ and ‘Ironic’ alone? There were 3 #1 singles, 5 in the Top 10. The album was the 2nd best selling album of the 90’s (S.Twain, Come on Over #1), one of only three albums to spend over a year in the top ten, Nominated for 6 Grammys, 4 win’s and right now, stands at 16million unit sales in the US, 33m worldwide and is currently the 20th best selling album of all time. With all that, at that time, those were hard stats to vote against. So as much as I would’ve preferred something else, not that I hate the album or songs (I did get tired of them), I didn’t dispute the ranking. But here’s the question (because you know I love input), do you still think it stands there? ~10 years later, you don’t hear much from the album (or Alanis, for that matter). So now, what would be that #1 album born from the decade that truly formed me? Again, I tend to think of Nirvana, because today, we still see the impact that album has formed, it took the glam out of ‘real rock’ and made known the melancholy attitude of the generation, but there are others. OK Computer, honestly, to me, one of the top 10 front to back albums of all times and easily vys for #1 in my eyes. Pearl Jam released just as many impactful singles from ‘Ten’, I wasn’t a big fan at the time, but I don’t deny it’s stature. There’s Shania Twain, ‘Come on Over’, while totally not my cup of tea, revitalized the entire female country/rock industry and if you don’t believe me, ask Taylor Swift or Leann Rhimes, The Dixie Chicks, I’d even say Kelly Clarkson.

"Pick Me!, Pick Me!, NO Me!, Right Here!"

"Pick Me!, Pick Me!, NO Me!, Right Here!"

There’s Shania’s male equivalent, Garth Brooks, who revitalized country. Period. He’s not around much, but his impact sure is. Notorious B.I.G. and Jay-Z, Tupac, all, certainly made a still massively visable mark on not only music but everywhere, ask your neighborhood neo-wigger. Nine Inch Nails, Smashing Pumpkins, No Doubt, Tupac, U2, Green Day, Metallica, Backstreet Boys and Britney goddamn Spears (there’s certainly some sort of visible remainder of her impact), what’s the number #1 Album. Is it still Jagged Little Pill? You oughta know. (Yeah, I totally forced that one).

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

